Visiting schools

One of the really fun things about being a children’s writer is visiting schools and talking to the pupils there.  Earlier this week I got to visit Tahuna Normal Intermediate in Dunedin and spoke to year 8 students in their classroom and later in the school’s library to the other children who wanted to meet me. 

When talking about being an author I try to dispel a few myths (no – we don’t get to design our book covers, writing that many words is not that hard and this is what one of my books look like when it comes off my home printer).  I also want to help them out with their own writing and make it easier for them.  My definition of story is “cool people doing cool stuff” and, when the kids think about it, it takes the mystery out of what makes a good story.

For their letters look under the earlier post “Getting Better”

Leave a comment

Filed under The process of writing

Leave a Reply

